…and the BTB Tourism Awards Finalists are:

Wednesday, June 9th, 2010

Environmental Organization of the Year
An organization that is a leader in the conservation and preservation of Belize’s natural resources; practices sustainable management of Belize’s natural resources, supports community development and promotes public awareness and education of environmental preservation.

International Center for Responsible Tourism (ICRT – Belize) – *FINALIST*
Toledo Institute for Development and Environment (TIDE) – *FINALIST*

Placencia Moorings Masters
Southern Environmental Association

Receptive Service of the Year
A tourism business entity that offers exceptional service to customers, the ability to manage a business seamlessly, is sensitive to the needs of staff, flexible in adapting to change and accommodating to the industry’s needs and offers an authentic Belizean experience.

Museum of Belize – *FINALIST*
Ambergriscaye.com – *FINALIST*

Le Petit Café
Island Adventures Golf Cart Rental

Hotel of the Year
A licensed hotel that offers a gateway to paradise, where service exceeds excellence, engulfed with positive attitude and attentiveness of staff, offers exceptional value for money, has outstanding facilities and amenities, remarkable ambiance, innovation and the ability to provide visitors with a true sample of the Belize brand.

Xanadu Island Resort – *FINALIST*
Jaguar Reef Lodge – *FINALIST*

Ka’ana Boutique Resort
Chabil Mar Villas

Small Hotel of the Year
A licensed small hotel that captures the essence of warmth and homeliness, displays customer – service excellence, utilizes environmental best practices and sound management.

Seaside Cabanas – *FINALIST*
The Lodge at Big Falls – *FINALIST*

Villa Boscardi
Black Orchid Resort

Tour Operator of the Year
A licensed tour operator that offers a variety of tours which excels in service, product innovation, marketing, creativity, uniqueness, safety, reliability and value for money.

Caves Branch Adventure Co. – *FINALIST*
Avadon Divers – *FINALIST*

Grumpy & Happy Enterprises
Searious Adventures

Tour Guide of the Year
A licensed tour guide with a wealth of knowledge, has the ability to mesmerize an audience, excellent communication and interpersonal skills, positive attitude, creativity and the ability to provide world-class tour experience.

Eloy Quevas (Monkey River Retreat) – *FINALIST*
Rudolf Thompson (CPR saved a life) – *FINALIST*

Dwayne Young (Joy Tours)
Mauricio Aguilar (Lamanai Outpost Lodge)
Luis Godoy (Belize Nature Travel)

Frontline Person of the Year
A frontline employee who has unmatched interpersonal skills, the ability to welcome guests with great Belizean hospitality, is well versed about the Belize product and provides a memorable experience.

Benjamin Awe (Chaa Creek) – *FINALIST*
Natalie Ranguy (Chabil Mar) – *FINALIST*

Patricia Rodriguez (San Ignacio Resort Hotel)
Jubalos Kib (Seaside Cabanas)

Cultural Award of the Year
A person or organization that exemplifies Belizean entertainment, is instrumental in the creative arts, and/or music, food and promotes and preserves Belize’s cultural heritage.

Three Kings of Belize – *FINALIST*
Umalali: The Garifuna Women’s Project – *FINALIST*

Governor General of Belize
Battle of the Drums Competition and Show (PG)

Small Vendor of the Year
A small vendor who offers creative and quality products and provides value for money with exceptional service.

Tutti Frutti Gelateria – *FINALIST*
Cotton Tree Chocolate – *FINALIST*

Sing’s Gift Shop (Belize City)
Maya Ant & Bee (Punta Gorda)

Restaurant of the Year
A restaurant offering a dining experience and not just a meal or a routine. Here, the ambiance is bliss, the menu offers diversity and the service is great. The personality of the restaurant is as distinct as the staff is professional.

Blue Water Grill (Sun Breeze Hotel) – *FINALIST*
Bonefish Grille (Singing Sands Inn) – *FINALIST*

Red Ginger (The Phoenix)
French Connection (Placencia)

Destination of the Year *New*
This destination is proactive in terms of marketing, product enhancement and sustainability initiatives. In addition, customers rave about their satisfaction levels and high service standards found throughout. Events and attractions are bountiful while both the tangible and intangible product offering contribute to the lure, comfort and convenience of all who visit.

Hopkins, Stann Creek – *FINALIST*
San Pedro, Ambergris Caye – *FINALIST*

Placencia, Stann Creek
San Ignacio, Cayo

In Addition, there will be two more awards, for which no nominations were requested, namely:

Minister’s Award

Lifetime Achievement Award


Please help support Local Journalism in Belize

For the first time in the history of the island's community newspaper, The San Pedro Sun is appealing to their thousands of readers to help support the paper during the COVID-19 pandemic. Since 1991 we have tirelessly provided vital local and national news. Now, more than ever, our community depends on us for trustworthy reporting, but our hard work comes with a cost. We need your support to keep delivering the news you rely on each and every day. Every reader contribution, however big or small, is so valuable. Please support us by making a contribution.

Click to Donate

Follow The San Pedro Sun News on Twitter, become a fan on Facebook. Stay updated via RSS

Leave a Reply

Comments are closed on this post.