The 10th Annual BTB Tourism Awards – the winners..

Friday, June 11th, 2010

On Thursday, June 10, 2010, the BTB held it’s tenth annual Tourism Awards ceremony honoring those exceptional service providers in the tourism industry. The Best Western Biltmore Plaza was the venue for tourism stakeholders, nominees and invited guests.
After a brief welcome, the national anthem and invocation, the awards were announced and the winners are as follows:
Cultural Award of the Year:
Three Kings of Belize
Other Finalists: Umalali: The Garifuna Women’s Project, Governor General of Belize, Battle of the Drums Competition and Show (PG)

Frontline Person of the Year:
Benjamin Awe (Chaa Creek)
Other Finalists: Natalie Ranguy (Chabil Mar), Patricia Rodriguez (San Ignacio Resort Hotel), Jubalos Kib (Seaside Cabañas)

Tour Guide of the Year:
Eloy Quevas (Monkey River Retreat)
Other Finalists: Rudolf Thompson, Dwayne Young (Joy Tours), Mauricio Aguilar (Lamanai Outpost Lodge), Luis Godoy (Belize Nature Travel)

Small Vendor of the Year:
Tutti Frutti Ice Gelateria
Other Finalists: Cotton Tree Chocolate, Sings Gift Shop (Belize City), Maya Ant & Bee (Punta Gorda)

Restaurant of the Year:
Blue Water Grill (San Pedro)
Other Finalists: Bonefish Grille (Singing Sands Inn), Red Ginger (The Phoenix), French Connection (Placencia)

Receptive Service of the Year:
Museum of Belize
Other Finalists:, Le Petit Cafe, Island Adventures Golf Cart Rental

Environmental Organization of the Year:
International Center for Responsible Tourism (ICRT – Belize)
Other Finalists: Toledo Institute for Development and Environment (TIDE), Placencia Moorings Masters, Southern Environmental Association

Small Hotel of the Year:
The Lodge at Big Falls
Other Finalists: Seaside Cabañas, Villa Boscardi, Black Orchid Resort

Tour Operator of the Year:
Caves Branch Adventure Company
Other Finalists: Avadon Divers, Grumpy & Happy Enterprises, Searious Adventures

Hotel of the Year:
Jaguar Reef Lodge
Other Finalists: Xanadu Island Resort, Ka’ana Boutique Resort, Chabil Mar Villas
Destination of the Year:
Hopkins, Stann Creek
Other Finalists: San Pedro – Ambergris Caye, Placencia – Stann Creek, San Ignacio – Cayo

Minister’s Award:
Brian Young Sr.

Lifetime Achievement Award:
Celi McCorkle, Holiday Hotel

Special Awards:
Green Globe Recognition:

Chaa Creek, Hamanasi Lodge, Xanadu Resort (San Pedro)

Ingrid, Martin and Blanca of Xanadu Resort in San Pedro
Rudolf Thompson – CPR saved a life
Congratulations to all winners and nominees!!

Follow The San Pedro Sun News on Twitter, become a fan on Facebook. Stay updated via RSS

Leave a Reply

Comments are closed on this post.