San Pedro High School graduates 139 over two days

Friday, June 19th, 2020

The 2020 graduation season in San Pedro Town has so far seen brief celebrations, with only immediate family members attending the scheduled ceremonies. This was the case of the graduating class of San Pedro High School (SPHS), who were hosted via a virtual ceremony under the theme ‘Through Adversity We Strive,’ at 6PM on Thursday, June 18th on Reef TV.  All 139 graduates received their diplomas and certificates earlier across a span of two days, starting on Wednesday, June 17th at the Angel Nuñez Auditorium.

The graduates were divided in two groups, and accompanied by their immediate relatives, took turns to visit the auditorium where they received their high school diplomas. This new norm has been necessary due to the current COVID-19 pandemic that has brought restrictions on massive gatherings and requiring mandatory social distancing.

On Wednesday, SPHS hosted the first group, which included its three top students. This portion of a two-day program of handing out diplomas was recorded for Thursday’s viewing. It included a short program that saw Catherine Canul and Alan Ayala presiding over the ceremony.

Casasola, Alamilla, Canul and Usher

Rachel Alamilla delivered the Salutatory Address, while Manuel Casasola addressed those in attendance with his Valedictory Address, and Stephanie Usher provided the Vote of Thanks. The program also included words from guest speaker Dr. Gaby Miranda and the Principal’s Address by Emil Vasquez. Juan Olivarez blessed the gathering with a prayer.

The handing out of the diplomas ended on Thursday, with the last group of students walking the aisle flanked by their relatives only. After receiving their awards from Principal Vasquez, the graduates made their way to take pictures and celebrate this milestone in their education.

 SPHS class of 2020 included:

***Honour Roll and Valedictorian

** Honour Roll and highest mark

*Honour Roll


**Rachel Alamilla, *Johanna Aries, Keily Bonilla, David Cadle, **Catherine Canul, Jahleel Castro, Robert Chable, Brayan Contreras, Irene Delgado, Kevin Ek, Melanie Gonzalez, Janice Hernandez, Gloria Lara, *Vilma Lara, Jaslyn Lima, Luis Madrid, *Dennisa P. Mairena, *Joyce Martinez, Victoria McNab, *Cristine Moguel, David Moncada, Bianca, Narvaez, *Aaliyah Oxley, *Roman Palma, *Jairo Portillo, *Rosado Maximiliano, *Zurikka Sajia, Ronier Santos, **Stephanie Usher, *Sueny Vasquez, *Tiana Young, and *Karina Zetina.


Catherine Dawson and Roberto Stuart.


Edwardo Ack, Breanna Amaya, Henry Betancourt, *Liandra Bowden, *Edras Caballeros, *Sherane Cardenas, *Juliana Carranza, Vince Eiley Jr., *Yari Flores, *Kristy Flowers, *Joana Garcia, *J Mailin Garcia, Normalee Gomez, Alejandra Gonzalez, Ingrid Gonzalez, Ofel Guerrero, *Marilyn Harsh, Babee Lopez, Abner Martinez, *Lesly Martinez, Yanelly Martinez, Kelly Mas, Glevy Mejia, Michael Mendez, *Aaron Merino, Kyle Oliva, **Juan Olivarez, Lujan Rubio, *Tanya Teul, Hasiem Valerio, *Diani Velasquez, Williams Kyana, and *Aisha Ysaguirre.


Cesar Ayuso, *Jenevieve Ayuso, *Jerby Bijil, *Afeni Bladen, *Avany Carillo, ***Manuel Casasola, Eric Castillo, Wilson Cruz, *Cindy M. Dominguez, Jeinna Galvez, Ryan Gonzalez, *Miguel Hernandez, *Stejan Hulett, *David Humes, Eder Izab, Ahdanye Lewis, *Alvin Logan, Elijah Martinez, *Geovana Mas, Jewel, Mazin, *Junior Medina, *Rita Mencia, *Gavin Nuñez, *Jesus Nuñez, Milo Jose Paz, Ian Pou, *Kaitlyn Pylot, *Sean Pylot, Alexander Ramos, Emily Rivero, Emily Rivero, Yahir Sandoval, Luis Sima, Noe Sosa, Gineldy Tepaz, *Kimberly Tzul, *Seleny Varela, *Karissa Vasquez, *Jairy Acosta, **Alan Ayala, Alexander Briceño Jr., *Albert Brown, Roberto Buul, *Stacy Carillo, *Chelsey Castillo, *Jorge Castillo, Wilder Cucul, E Tyler Cutkelvin, *Anthony Delgado, Juan Diaz, Emerson Duran, Jorge Escalante Jr., *Delcy Garcia, *Nayellie Henriquez, Julian Herrarte, Eric Longsworth, *Jamin Mai, *E Dayrin Mar, Tyrese Martinez, *Johana Mas, Herman Melendez, *Evelin Mencia, Brianny Ortega, Emily Patt, Edward Polanco, *Dishawn Puerto, Jeovanni Ramos, *Dana Reyes, *Jazmin Rivero, Darwin Santos, J Freder Soriano, Jocelyn Vasquez and Gisela Vides.

The San Pedro Sun joins the island community in congratulating all high school graduates and wishes them the best in their next life journey in their tertiary level education.


Please help support Local Journalism in Belize

For the first time in the history of the island's community newspaper, The San Pedro Sun is appealing to their thousands of readers to help support the paper during the COVID-19 pandemic. Since 1991 we have tirelessly provided vital local and national news. Now, more than ever, our community depends on us for trustworthy reporting, but our hard work comes with a cost. We need your support to keep delivering the news you rely on each and every day. Every reader contribution, however big or small, is so valuable. Please support us by making a contribution.

Click to Donate

Follow The San Pedro Sun News on Twitter, become a fan on Facebook. Stay updated via RSS


Comments are closed on this post.
Comments -19 - 0 of 0First« PrevNext »Last
Comments -19 - 0 of 0First« PrevNext »Last

Leave a Reply

Comments are closed on this post.