Swearing In of the Elections and Boundaries Commission

Friday, February 26th, 2021

At a brief ceremony held this morning in Belmopan, the Governor General H.E. Sir Colville Young swore in the newly appointed members of the Elections and Boundaries Commission.

The members are:
Mr. Oscar Sabido Puga, Chairman
Mr. Orlando Espat
Mr. Conrad Lewis
Mrs. Phillipa Griffith Bailey
Mr. Alberto August
As dictated by Section 88(13) of the Constitution, the Elections and Boundaries Commission is responsible for the direction and supervision of the registration of voters as well as the conduct of elections, referenda and all matters connected with such matters. The Commission cannot be subjected to the command or limited by any other person or authority. This body is accountable to the provisions of the Constitution and must act in accordance with the Representation of the People Act or any other law, rule or regulation relating to elections.


Please help support Local Journalism in Belize

For the first time in the history of the island's community newspaper, The San Pedro Sun is appealing to their thousands of readers to help support the paper during the COVID-19 pandemic. Since 1991 we have tirelessly provided vital local and national news. Now, more than ever, our community depends on us for trustworthy reporting, but our hard work comes with a cost. We need your support to keep delivering the news you rely on each and every day. Every reader contribution, however big or small, is so valuable. Please support us by making a contribution.

Click to Donate

Follow The San Pedro Sun News on Twitter, become a fan on Facebook. Stay updated via RSS

Leave a Reply

Comments are closed on this post.