Coral Reef Ed-Ventures announce Poster Competition Winners

Wednesday, July 27th, 2011

The Winning Poster designed by Mariel, Mariano, Jucely & Christopher.

The Coral Reef Ed-Ventures 2011 crew has come and gone, and in their wake, we have several eager children waiting to find out the results of the poster competition they participated in. After a few great weeks of environmental education, the poster competition was the finale to a successful Ed-Venture camp.

The posters were taken back to Smith College by the Camp Counselors who had professors and members of the Smith community vote for their favorite. Below is their email that describes the decision process:

“After much debate, the winner of the 2011 Coral Reef Ed-Ventures Camp Conservation Poster Contest has been chosen!

On Thursday, July 21st, the five counselors from Coral Reef Ed-Ventures presented on their time spent working with the children of San Pedro, Belize by through pictures and movies. After the presentation, the audience was asked to vote on the posters that the campers had made for the Conservation Poster Contest.

Forty students and professors from Smith College (Massachusetts, USA) carefully studied the 11 brightly colored posters. The spectators paced back and forth observing the posters and commenting how impressed they were with the campers’ work.

“I can’t pick just one,” exclaimed student Abby Dornbusch. “All of these posters are so creative! It’s going to be a difficult decision.”

“I can’t decide! I’m so proud of our artists!” remarked student Cat Walker.

“But did everyone notice the vampire squid?” inquired student Angela Oliverio.

“I did! Our students are so smart!” commented student Marie Wallace.

One by one, the voters approached the stand and submitted their vote. The counselors stood by anxiously waiting to tally the votes. “It’s going to be a close call!” stated student Alyssa Stanek as she counted the last vote.

[In the end…] The winners of the contest are Mariel Calderon, Mariano Donis, Jucely Rosalez and Christopher Acosta. Honorable mentions include Kiona and Haylee Sankar, Diego Francois and Diany Velasquez. Congratulations to all for a job well done!”

Photo Gallery


Please help support Local Journalism in Belize

For the first time in the history of the island's community newspaper, The San Pedro Sun is appealing to their thousands of readers to help support the paper during the COVID-19 pandemic. Since 1991 we have tirelessly provided vital local and national news. Now, more than ever, our community depends on us for trustworthy reporting, but our hard work comes with a cost. We need your support to keep delivering the news you rely on each and every day. Every reader contribution, however big or small, is so valuable. Please support us by making a contribution.

Click to Donate

Follow The San Pedro Sun News on Twitter, become a fan on Facebook. Stay updated via RSS

Leave a Reply

Comments are closed on this post.