Monday, April 15, 2024

Kristina Romero appointed to the National Women’s Commission


San Pedro’s Kristina Romero has been appointed as a member of the Board of Commissioners within the National Women’s Commission (NWC). Romero, who is also the Director of Operations at Hope Haven Children’s Home in San Pedro Town, is humbled and honoured to be part of the NWC and promises islanders to represent them well.

As a survivor of domestic violence, Romero understands those who are suffering in silence and judged. “I will be your voice at the national level,” she said. “I know how to rise, how to do good, and how to make a difference.” Romero looks forward to doing exceptional work with the team at NWC, which falls under the Ministry of Human Development, Families, and Indigenous People’s Affairs.

The newly appointed Board of Commissioners held its inaugural meeting on Thursday, February 11th, with the Honourable Dolores Balderamos-Garcia in charge of the Ministry of Human Development, Families, and Indigenous People’s Affairs. The Honourable Gilroy Usher and Chief Executive Officer Tanya Santos Neal of the same ministry were also present.

During the session, the commissioners pledged to advocate for issues related to women’s advancement and monitor the implementation and fulfilment of the standards, principles, and goals outlined in international commitments. Some of these include the Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination Against Women, the Beijing Declaration and Platform for Action, the Belem Do Para Convention on eliminating Violence of Women, among others. The Board of Commissioners intends to serve as an advisory body to the ministry as well.

The commissioners will look after the responsibility for women and gender issues and work towards more effective, efficient, planning, and coordinating efforts among relevant stakeholders on women and gender matters.

The newly installed Board of Commissioners includes members from across the country. Board President is Thea Garcia Ramirez, Vice President Marissa Cervantes Martin, Treasurer Pastora Castillo, and Secretary Dorla Vaughan.

Other commissioners include Anthony Sabal, Wendy Cabral Williams, Geovannie Brackett, Chelsea Cruz,

Aurelia Cal, Major Jonathan Kellman, Dr. Lesly Perez, and Ashanti Arthurs Martin.

These positions are not considered full-time, and commissioners volunteer their time for the greater good.

Read more


Please help support Local Journalism in Belize

For the first time in the history of the island's community newspaper, The San Pedro Sun is appealing to their thousands of readers to help support the paper during the COVID-19 pandemic. Since 1991 we have tirelessly provided vital local and national news. Now, more than ever, our community depends on us for trustworthy reporting, but our hard work comes with a cost. We need your support to keep delivering the news you rely on each and every day. Every reader contribution, however big or small, is so valuable. Please support us by making a contribution.

Local News